fasse
I was cruising a few of these web directories and came upon a host called midphase.... they looked pretty decent I guess.
Until I checked out this page:
http://www.midphase.com/accounts-login.shtml
I thought how nice of them to publicly show the status of all of their servers, knowing they must go down sometimes! I was curious if the page was accurate so I pinged a few of their servers....
All 8 servers are the same server! It's a total scam to make me think they have 8 servers, "all operational" - when really they just have 1.
I understand all businesses exagerate - but should I be prepared for all hosts to be THIS blatently dishonest about their business and service?
Added: - and if so, how on earth am I supposed to ever really know what I am buying ?
Nw-Allwin
That was pretty watchful of you. But I would say , why not contact them and ask them the reason for that. I pinged some of the lower servers and got a different IP. So its not definitely a single server.
Best way is to simply contact them. This way you can ascertain your issue and check out their integrity too.
Regards,
northwindwebhost.com
Overall there were 4 different ip addresses.
2 Look very suspicious as the IPs are very similar.
ROXY and Malcolm are pretty empty.
Anyway, I do not want to badmouth Midphase as I know nothing about them, but as far as how far people go for your money, there is no limit in the business world.
They will lie, and sometimes even steal your money. =P
explorerhost.com
seems to me that couple of them are just duplicated but the others ae actual different ip's so it seems as if they are different servers
OFS
If they tell you something that sound false then you just stay away, however if they have a feasable explaination you may want to check into it first.
Reddrake
Its good that you checked. Background checks are good. How ever this doesn't say there a bad host. Its just saying they want to look better. Some hosts say they have 99.99999 Uptime. Which in all cases is almost impossible.
cPanel servers go down occasionally. Apache Upgrades and such.
Not to go into detail. Feel free to try them out. Getting a smaller package. Write a small review, if you like them get something more. Otherwise research

Thanks,
Brian
Msanders
I'm not saying they may or may not be trying to decieve you, but I do know that some hosts may hosts behind a router, or firewall, and use a single IP with NAT. Some Cisco Routers can be setup to perform this with an access list.
But ya never know, Just throwing in my 2 cents.
Msanders
http://www.impact-x.netmidphase-Dan
Hi,
Just thought I would clarify this issue, and point out some
things.
Malcolm, Roxy, Saturn and Mega are currently customer-active
servers. Meaning: we are not putting customers on the other
services, yet.
However, we do have the hardware ready -- we are constantly
growing and activating servers (Roxy was not live a week ago,
but it is now.)
We are a three-month old web host, but we are backed by two
long-time companies (dkAds Network and NexAds.) We arn't trying
to scam anyone, please don't jump to conclusions.
Now, the proof:
Mega - Marlin ESS in Florida - 208.143.203.92
Gambit (aka Adrun) - ULE in New Jersey - 65.211.123.138
Saturn - EV1 in Texas - 64.246.50.57
Malcolm - EV1 in Texas - 69.57.140.31
Roxy - EV1 in Texas - 69.57.140.32
Stardust (aka Hope) - Ev1 in Texas 69.57.140.22
Ratestar (aka Star) - NAC.net - 64.21.151.186
Let me know if you need any more questions answered. But,
please ask instead of). We use various DC's for many obvious
reasons.
Also, I should note: accounts-login.shtml is a dynamically generated
page that is cached every 15 minutes by our server (it is hosted on
Mega.) The scripts running on the server will, in fact, update that
page and turn a box light pink if there is a problem (and page our
admin.)
Hope that helps,
Dan Ushman
midPhase Services, LLP
1-866-MIDPHASE x211
1-847-934-6720 x111
justhost
That was a very professional reply Dan. I fully agree with you that people should not immediately jump to conclusions. Kudos to you for doing that well in only three months also.
kylec
Quote:
Originally posted by Nw-Allwin
That was pretty watchful of you. But I would say , why not contact them and ask them the reason for that. I pinged some of the lower servers and got a different IP. So its not definitely a single server.
Best way is to simply contact them. This way you can ascertain your issue and check out their integrity too.
Regards,
|
This is true, especially on Internet. Don't easily trust some companies that offer servies that may just suck your money easily.
Hi,
I don't feel they wonot decieve you at all....
they're trying to make up the things to setright...
they just 3 month in the business it's to early to face this type of situation.....
hang for a while they may set the things in a goodmanner.....
let's hope for the best.........